Computing & Information Technology

The BTEC Level 3 National Foundation Diploma in Information Technology/ BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Information Technology (BIT) consist of 13 units of which 7 are mandatory, 4 are external and rest optional.
The qualification carries UCAS tariff points and made up of a range of mandatory and optional units. As part of the qualification, we encourage students to enrol on the Cisco “Introduction to Internet of Things” course to help them enhance their employability.

First Year
Learners in the first year will study BTEC Level 3 National Foundation Diploma in Information Technology- Business Information Technology (BIT) and complete the following six units. Actual optional units may be subject to change.

  • Information Technology Systems 120 GLH Mandatory
  • Creating Systems to Manage Information 90 GLH Mandatory
  • Using Social Media in Business 90 GLH
  • Programming 90 GLH Mandatory
  • Data Modelling 60 GLH Optional
  • Website Development 60 GLH Optional

    Second Year
    Learners in the second year will study BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Information Technology- Business Information Technology (BIT) and complete the following seven units. Actual optional units may be subject to change.

  • Cyber security and Incident Management 120GLH Mandatory (External)
  • IT Service Delivery 120 GLH Mandatory (Synoptic External)
  • IT Project Management 90GLH Mandatory (Internal)
  • Big Data and Business Analytics 60GLH Optional (Internal)
  • The Internet of Things 60 GLH Optional (Internal)
  • IT Technical Support and Management 60 GLH Optional (Internal)
  • Cloud Storage and Collaboration Tools 60 GLH Optional (Internal)
  • Entry requirements

    5 GCSEs grade 9-4 (grade A* - C) preferably including both English & maths
    or a relevant Level 2 qualification at merit or above. If you do not have GCSEs in English and maths at grade 4 (grade C) or above you will take a formal test in both subjects. ICT skills are essential and you will have an interview and assessment.

  • Who is the course for?

    Business and commerce rely heavily on information systems and business environment in which that development take place. This qualification provides a balance of business and information technology and responds to industry needs, enhancing your employment prospects. You study a combination of computing and business-oriented units. You learn to use current technology in communications, IOT, Cloud Computing databases, web publishing, etc. to analyse business problems and develop effective solutions. The qualification is designed to be studied over two years and is equivalent in size to three A Levels. It fully meets entry requirements for progression to an HNC or HND or a degree course in IT and related areas such as: Information Technology Management, Business Information Technology, IT Management for Business, etc.

  • Study methods

    This course is classroom taught and you will have opportunities to develop your creative skills through instructor led workshops.

  • How is the course assessed?

    Each learning aim has Pass and Merit criteria. Each assignment has at least one Distinction criterion. There are three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic.

    Externally-assessed units
    The styles of external assessment used are:

    • examinations – all students take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome
    • set tasks – students take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task. External assessments are available twice a year.

      Internally-assessed units
      Learners will be assessed using assignments that provide the final summative assessment of each unit. A variety of styles will be used to help students develop a broad range of transferable skills including:
    • write up the findings of their own research
    • use case studies to explore complex or unfamiliar situations
    • carry out projects for which they have choice over the direction and outcomes
    • demonstrate practical and technical skills using appropriate (tools/processes etc.).

      Synoptic assessment
      Learners will apply an understanding of Unit 14: IT service delivery and draw on their learning from across the programme to complete assessment tasks. Learners will apply analytical skills that will help prepare them for IT courses in higher education and for employment in technician level job roles and apprenticeships in a variety of related areas.
  • More information

    For further information, please contact our Information, Advice and Guidance team on 01895 853333 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

  • Where Next – Job Opportunities

    The qualification gives learners a broad base of knowledge of the IT sector. Successful candidates can expect to find employment opportunities as: Security Administrator (infrastructure, data, and applications), Network Security Architect, Network Security Engineer, Network Security Specialist.

  • Where Next – Further Studies

    The qualification fully meets the requirements for progression to a wide range of programmes in IT and related areas. These include:

    • HNC or HND in Computing,
    • BSc in Information Systems
    • BSc in Digital Technology Solutions
    • BSc in Information Technology Management
    • BSc in IT Management for Business
  • How to apply

    To apply for a course choose one of these methods:

    >> Online - click the Apply Now button, fill out the form and submit
    >>Post - download an application form here , or use the form in the prospectus. Fill it out and return it to:
    Student Records/Admissions, Uxbridge College, Park Road, Uxbridge, Middlesex, UB8 1NQ.

    When we have received your application we will contact you to arrange an interview time.

Course starting Sep 2024

Starts 2 September 2024

Duration 1 Year(s)

Location Hayes Campus

Days/Time Monday-Friday
09:00 - 17:00